Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
which is better for a 12 year old,he shot BB guns ever since he was 3, he currently shoots a 243 and is very comfortable with it and he is accurate enough to make a great shot on a deer at 225 yards. his birthday is coming up and wants a 30-06 or a 308. we will be mostly hunting deer but may go elk hunting ???

·
Registered
205 Posts
Buck Slayer,
Take your pick. Both are great cartridges. I have been shooting a 308 since I was 8 years old. I would tell you to start him out on 150 grain loads and work up from there if you need to. I shot 125/130 grain bullets and never saw much difference in recoil to the 150 grain bullets. If you reload you can reduce the loads a little bit to get him used to the recoil. I don't think he will have any problem with either cartridge. The only reason I own a 308 is that dad got a great buy on a pre 64 model Winchester he found in a gun shop.

·
Premium Member
1,542 Posts
Guess with the choices I would choose the 308. Depends on his size. I have seen some BIG 12 yo's! When one of mine was 12, he could have handled both.

But if I were getting a gun for a 12 yo that he would never outgrow, could shoot an elk with, and never develop a flinch (assuming he is a normal shooter) I would look at a 6.5x55 Swede or 260 Rem. I have the 6.5 and love it. The Swedes shoot moose with it, and I would shoot elk with mine.

My now 15 yo (big kid/athlete) loves my M70 6.5, and finishing a sporterized Mauser for him. He loves the cartridge because he has shot 3 deer, two w/ the 6.5 and one w/ a 308. Both the 6.5's dropped in their hoof prints, and the 308 deer ran about 30 or so yds. He is a huge 6.5 convert!

·
Registered
2,345 Posts