Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Rookie reloader here. Marlin 336. Lee Challenger press and deluxe rifle die set w/ factory crimp. Bullets- Speer 110 gr. hollow points. This is the second time I've reloaded these cases using the collet neck sizer. First time I've used these bullets. I have to use quite a bit of pressure on the lever to close the last half inch. After firing, the empty case chambers easily. Any idea on what's wrong? Do I need to buy a Winchester? :shock: :wink: I'm using the neck sizer because it's supposed to give better accuracy with the fire formed cases. Also when I used the full sizer the neck was so loose I could seat the bullets by hand. I'm wondering if I didn't lube the inside of the case enough when full length sizing. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
52 Posts
I am fairly new to reloading myself but from what I have seen the collet neck sizer die is not recomended for autos, pumps, and lever guns. Maybe some one with more experience can tell us why.

·
Registered
736 Posts
Here is the answer from the reloading manuals: When reloading for any lever-action, pump, or autoloader, the cases should be full-length resized each time. Those action types do not have the powerful camming forced of a bolt-action rifle and the cases must chamber easily.

Having said that, I will say that I have reloaded for these actions using less-than-full-length resizing. It depends on the specific rifle and it's specific chamber geometry. My 35 Rem 336SC would handle cases MUCH larger than factory size. My BLR 308 wouldn't take even full-length sized cases and even had trouble extracting factory ammo. With all guns, if the cases were previously fired in a different rifle (such as with scrounged brass) then they certainly should be full-length resized before firing in your rifle. In all instances, the cases must fully chamber easily in your lever-action.