Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G'day everyone - new here and looking for some comments/advice with regards to a reduced load as I am recovering from a shoulder operation and currently very sensitive to recoil. Load would be used for general 'plinking' and hunting small/medium game at close range (out to 50m) - I have very little experience with re-loading so please assume I know nothing?

Thanks and regards.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Cast or jacketed? I've been shooting the Sierra 125gn projectiles lately with a lot less felt recoil than 170gns I was using. I hear it's a suitable load for deer also, if that's what you mean by medium sized game.

Within 50m you might want to look at cast projectiles using something like Trail Boss powder, can get them going pretty slow. Be suitable for plinking and small game I imagine, with very little recoil. Plenty of info on here regarding those loads, or check out the Hodgdon website... http://www.hodgdon.com/PDF/Trail-Boss-data.pdf

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the comments - happy to use cast or jacketed projectiles. Will follow up with the info you have supplied.

Cheers.

·
Registered
3,066 Posts
Greetings O.B. and welcome!

So much great info here and some really good mates here. ;)

Grab a cold one and get comfy. There is a thread that is many pages long that is all about reduced loads.
You'll find many choices for your needs. If you come up with a load of your own, please add it to the thread!

http://www.marlinowners.com/forums/index.php/topic,41593.0.html

Reactions: Armedhippy

·
Registered
275 Posts
I used to shoot the Hornady 100 grain half-jacket bullets with good results. I used them for plinking/varmint loads with 36 grains of IMR 3031, which is about max. Other good light bullets are the Speer 115 grain HP and the Sierra 125 grain HP - also the Speer 130 grain bullet is excellent.