Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Before I got so busy a few months ago and had daylight to shoot I started working up loads with the 150 Hot core. After using the obvious favorites I started playing with different powders that looked workable. I wound up loveing 2015br and Benchmark. The most accurate powder with the 150 hot core was 760. I shot a 4 shot group that is a shade under a 1/4". The velocity was 2760fps. When I worked up Benchmark I got 1/2" groups but managed 3000fps. Very consistent and fun to shoot. I have a 30-06 Encore pistol. I worked up a load with the 150 Ballistic tip that shoots 1/2" groups and gets 2750fps with 2015br. I guess thats why they make so many different powders. I have been playing with H335 in the 06 also and it looks like its going to give close to 3000fps out of the rifle with 1/2" groups. All of these loads impact the same out of the rifle at 100 yards. reflex264

·
Registered
2,103 Posts
reflex264 said:
Before I got so busy a few months ago and had daylight to shoot I started working up loads with the 150 Hot core. Very consistent and fun to shoot. I have a 30-06 Encore pistol.
Yowch! I've got a .260 bbl for my Encore, and it's more than enough pistol for me! :shock: It is fun to shoot on the pistol side of the range. Usually by the end of 5 rounds of ammo, things get -r-e-a-l- quiet as folks look at the short fat guy slowly loading another single round into the hand cannon. The folks with lots of 9mm cartridges and little time to aim them don't seem to care for the noise! :lol:

·
Registered
5,394 Posts