Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5,697 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yes, No......How far.........Solid/HP.......Head shot/shoulder shot.

I'm gonna have the .41mag Bisley along because bear/lion is open and I'll be calling. Or should I just take the 45-70 and be on the safe side.

·
Registered
72 Posts
I have some experience hunting/calling coyotes but I am by no means an expert and I don't own a 22 mag, but here goes.

I believe the 22WMR is plenty of medicine for dogs if a guy was to keep his shots under 100yds or so. I hunt in the western prairies and my longest kill on a coyote is 135yds and it's pretty open around here, so to bring them in under that range is quite possible. I had a 'yote almost land in my lap once, I got three shots away with my 222 and missed all three, because my scope was cranked up to 9x. I was a little shaken to say the least. I paced off from where I was to his foot prints in the snow and he got within seven big paces of me, lol.

Anyway, back to the 22 magnum. Although I don't own one I would defintely use one for coyotes. I think a semi-auto would be the way to go, just because it'd be nice to double tap 'em should the need arise. I think one right in the boiler room would get the job done, that's always the high percentage shot. If they were to come in close I'd give them one in the melon. With some of the more high power ammo the punch that the 22WMR has is not too far off what a Hornet will do and I don't think there's anyone who'd say a Hornet is under-powered for coyotes.

There was an article I read on a website that did a ballistic comparison of a whole whack of different 22WMR ammo and I was quite impressed with what that little round will do. I'll search around and try and find the link again.

Oh, and I'd go hollow point if it were me and I'd have my shotgun with me in bear/cougar country, short 12g stoked with 00 or 000 buck.

Regards.

Tag.

·
Premium Member
3,589 Posts