Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am the new owner of an old 1907 Model 97 and I am trying to clean up the firing pin. I need advice. (Please excuse me if I get some of the terminology wrong, I'm a novice!)
The original/old firing pin in the rifle seems to strike the bullets well, but there is some damage to the end of the barrel, probably from dry fires when the magazine tube reaches empty. Closer inspection leads me to believe the firing pin has been cut so that it can extend too far forward and hit the end of the barrel.

Here is a picture of my old pin and the new Wisner firing pin I bought.
The new pin is the darker one on the bottom. It is approximately 0.016” shorter than the old pin. The old pin is 2.767” long and the new one is 2.751”.

You can see the old pin on top has the striking edge cut to be shorter (A). You can also see the pin stop (B) is cut back to allow the pin to go further forward when the hammer strikes it.

From above you can see the old pin (on the bottom in this photo) is narrower on the striking edge.

Here is the concerning part. This is the old pin in the bolt. You can see it protrudes a long way forward. In fact it reaches as far forward as the extractor hook. The stop on the pin isn’t restricting it’s forward motion enough (in my opinion).

Here is the heel of the bolt, you can see the pin slides far into the bolt. Too far? Shouldn’t this be flush?

Here is the front of the new pin in the bolt. Does this stick out far enough?

And here is the heel of the new pin in the bolt. It protrudes just a bit and isn’t quite flush with the bolt.

And here is a crucial shot of the strikes on some dummy ammo. On the left is the old pin. Looks good to me. On the right is the new pin; not much of a mark and it is hitting hardest closer to the center.

So…
I’m a novice, but here is what I think.