Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I have a question for you guys. After the last time cleaning my 1895G, I put the lever back on and now it seems like it is barely catching. This is allowing the lever to pop back open on me. It feels like it is just barely grabbing. It stays in battery easy enough when I am holding it, but if the lever is slightly tapped it will pop open. Just wondering if any of you all have ran into this and what the remedy is? Scotty

·
Registered
258 Posts
Sounds like a broken finger lever plunger spring. The spring pressurizes the lever plunger which holds the lever closed. If the spring is broken the plunger will be loose/weak/floppy. The lever plunger is the little metal cam that is just above the opening in the trigger loop of the lever.

Just my best guess - I am no expert nor a gunsmith.

Rob

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Rob. I will check it out. I have a new WWG lever coming for the rifle, so I wanna make sure it gets installed correctly. Scotty

·
Premium Member
2,038 Posts
Also make sure the plunger has a sharp angle & is not rounded off. I have also seen them where the angle is not straight across & would not lock. 444

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Rgr, I will check that as well.. I need to get it remedied soon. It is a little annoying. Scotty

·
Registered
116 Posts
beretzs said:
Rgr, I will check that as well.. I need to get it remedied soon. It is a little annoying. Scotty
It's an easy fix though, few minutes at best. Pop the pin, pull out the lever catch and spring, put in new spring and lever catch, put pin back in. I replaced the lever catch spring on another lever I have, smoothed up the release considerably but like yours, a small bump and the lever drops about half an inch until the slack is taken up. Kind of bugged me at first, but then I said what the heck, I'm squeezing the lever when I shoot anyway...

·