Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the form and a new owner of a 1895 XLR chambered in 45-70 GOV. The gun is used and was handed down to my by my girlfriends father. I'm a relatively inexperienced re-loader I've been doing it for about a year now and I reload for my 300 win mag, 30-06 and 243 win. I have purchased the Lee dies for the 45-70 and the factory crimp die. I have some Winchester un-fired brass and CCI large rifle primers and some RE-7. Only thing I had trouble finding were bullets. I traveled to the next town from me and was sold some Barnes 400 grain soft point semi spritzer bullets. I had question about the semi spritzer tip and safety of them in the tubular magazine. I was told that they would not be a problem so I purchased. When i got home I started on the Barnes site looking for some start load data and found that Barnes does not show this bullet's load data for the 1895 45-70. That is when I noticed these bullets don't have a crimp grove.

Sorry about the long winded explanation but i wanted to give my back ground. So my questions are, is this bullet safe to load for the 1895 45-70 and can I use the factory crimp die on this bullet.

Thanks in advanced, and please let me know if I should be posting this in different form on this site.

·
Registered
2,389 Posts
If they are like these: Barnes Original Bullets 45-70 Government (458 Diameter) 300 Grain , I'd say absolutely NOT! :vollkommenauf: (in fact, there's a "Do not use in tubular magazines" disclaimer at the bottom of the tech info!) You'll need a bullet with a meplat wider than the primer or you're liable to have a chain-fire in the magazine tube. They'll work just fine if you are shooting the rifle loading one round at a time, but don't put those pointy bullets in an in-line magazine!

There are LOTS of bullets available on-line for this cartridge.

·
Banned
1,519 Posts
Welcome to the forum.