Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I’ve recently bought an 1894 in .44 magnum. I’ve been loading for my rifles for about 15 years but never done straight wall cases or pistol calibre.

I have 500x 200 grain cast and pre lubed GM bullets and intend to use them with Viht N320 as I already have 3 cans. Is there anyone out there who can point me in the right direction on powder charges for this combination

Thanks Rick

·
Super Moderator
7,071 Posts
First, Welcome again!

Second, what re-loading manuals do you have available?

jd

Reactions: Owen49

·
Registered
7,303 Posts
Hi I’ve recently bought an 1894 in .44 magnum. I’ve been loading for my rifles for about 15 years but never done straight wall cases or pistol calibre.

I have 500x 200 grain cast and pre lubed GM bullets and intend to use them with Viht N320 as I already have 3 cans. Is there anyone out there who can point me in the right direction on powder charges for this combination

Thanks Rick
You don't state where you're at in your search.

I would first look here:

https://www.vihtavuori.com/reloading-data/handgun-reloading/?cartridge=47

And then here:

https://www.vihtavuori.com/reloading-data/cowboy-action-reloading/?cartridge=48

·
Registered
19,700 Posts
Rick A:

Diameter of Marlin .44 Mag barrels is SAAMI specced at .431+" in the grooves,different(larger) than a .429" pistol barrel. If your bullets are undersized they may not shoot well and leave leading. I say may because there's a possibility they'll target just fine. You won't know until you try. I shoot .432" cast 200 grain bullets and get excellent accuracy with minimal or no lead deposits.

What diameter are your cast slugs?

Rob

Reactions: Blaine

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hi forgot to say I’m from the UK which is why I’m going for Viht as it’s always avail here unlike some of the more popular powders from the US. The cast bullets are .429 as below