Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,056 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi group,
Yes, I am still pretty new to this but I have a craving for a number of Marlin Leverguns. I am trying to decide right now between the 1894 models. Anyway I see that Wally World is still advertising the FG 41 mag model but I do not see it on the Marlin website. What year was this model made?
Also, for investment purposes, would it be a better idea to go with the FG provided it is still available or go with the C model which would be cheaper to shoot, etc.?
I do like the PG on the 1894FG better than the SG on the 1894C, however, the overall size of the C model sure looks handy. Either would be fun to shoot, however, the .357 would be more pleasant I would imagine and cheaper to load for.
I sure like the 41 mag cartridge though.
Any ideas?

·
Premium Member
1,124 Posts
I think they have stopped making the FG, but there are still lots of them for sale on gunbroker. I went through a similar delima recently. I bought one of the older 1894S rifles in 41 Mag. I also bought an early 90s 1894CS 357 Mag.

Both were sweet handling, slick little rifles. The 41 actually felt just as light as the 357 despite the extra barrel length. It is amazing how much weight reduction you get from the bigger hole in the barrel. Anyway, since I dont reload as of yet, it became apparent that the 41 was going to be very expensive to shoot. The 357/38 on the other hand is very cheap to shoot.

Since I already had a 1894 CBII in 44 mag that really filled the same niche as the 41, I kept the 357 and sold the 41. I have not regretted the decision yet. I have shot the 357 several times without breaking the bank. It is a hoot to shoot, and very accurate. I may have to try it deer hunting this Fall.

·
Registered
117 Posts