Emergency storage food
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: Emergency storage food

Wrangler
    Member #

Emergency storage food

Looked around and searched a bit and couldn't find what I'm after. I want to order some of the emergency storage type food, such as Wise Food or Mountain House, but I'm not sure what brand I need to go with. This'll be stop-gap food for use in something like a natural disaster or similar, or something to take with me if I get ahold of one of the contracts to go work in a disaster area where I need to bring my own supplies.
    Does anybody have much experience with the various brands of emergency foods. What are the benefits, and the drawbacks? Which ones have the best nutritional content? Which ones taste the best? Which ones keep the longest?
    Any help on this subject would be appreciated.

Tinhorn
    Member #
    Being a Veteran I ate me pleanty of MRE’s (meal ready to eat.) Do a google search and you will learn all about them. I currently have 4 cases on hand. One MRE can feed a man for one day, they are very high in calories. Every MRE comes with a water activated heater so you can enjoy hot chow. I see them at gun shows and can also be found online, they are pricey.

I have also tried Mountain House freeze dried food. It’s good food but requires you to have some way to boil water. Depending on what kind of distaster zone your in you may want to buy a water filter as you will pour the water into the dehydrated food. Also unlike the MRE you will need to bring along your own spoons to eat.

Hope this helps, good luck.
    cajun56 and MidBigWest like this.

Gun Wizard
    Member #
    I regularly use Thrive Life freeze dried meals. My wife and I keep a good supply of their meals on hand for quick dinners as well as individual items to supplement other meals with fresh ingredients. They are reasonably priced, try them.
    cajun56 and MidBigWest like this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    MarlinOwners.com