• 3 Post By Steven M.
  • 2 Post By CJ-5
  • 1 Post By VinceA
  • 1 Post By Steve_In

Thread: Point of Aim

Gun Wizard
    Member #

Point of Aim

I have a question for left handed shooters. Does the point of aim/impact shift if you shoot a rifle that belongs to a right handed shooter? I have two grandson's that are left handed and I want to make sure they have a fun time at the range without having to change my sights or scope from my zero. My son is ambidextrous and this is not an issue with him.
    Tar_Heel 336 and Justducky like this.

Certified Gunnut
    Member #
    I'm no expert but I would think that once the rifle is zeroed it will strike where it is pointed no matter which shoulder absorbs the kick back - almost like shooting right handed and physically moving to left 18 inches -? I would think maybe that it would be the individual's personal point of aim and cheek weld that would change the strike of the round more than which shoulder is used.

“Conservatives want to alter their lifestyles to meet reality. Leftists want to alter reality to meet their lifestyles” - Frank Turek, Cross Examine Radio Show
    Reading or Listening for Comprehension instead of Confrontation leads to much better Conversation - Tar_Heel 336
    "The Difference Between Genius and Stupidity is that Genius has its Limits" - Albert Einstein
    ”Yup, but I was on a rant” 49FMarlin... "I hear ya, Brother - Been There, Done That" - Tar_Heel

Distinguished Master
    Member #
    Depends on which is their dominate eye.
    May not make a difference with a scope but it certainly will if they ever decide to use open sights.
    I'm a leftie who shoots righty due to a dominate right eye.
    Since getting my first BB gun as a kid I've never felt comfortable shooting left handed.

That should be the determining factor as to which hand to shoot with.
    They'll probably gravitate towards their own preference and I wouldn't do anything to discourage the choice they make.
    336A 30-30