• 12 Post By gdpolk
  • 5 Post By cajun56
  • 2 Post By vt4ster
  • 2 Post By will1972
  • 3 Post By phwebster

Thread: Hats Off for Skinner Sights

Wrangler
    Member #
    I have been using Skinner sights in some variety since around 2012. Simply put, they are the absolute best peep sight available for a Marlin lever action that is to be used as a hunting gun. I have bought several both new and used, but I’m not anybody that anyone at the shop knows by name because I just don’t buy as many guns as I would like to. I’m just another guy to them.

They lack precise and repeatable click adjustments and scales, which does indeed slow you down at the range when sighting one in. However, this also makes them the simplest, most robust, and cleanest looking sight on the market. Since most hunting guns shoot one load all the time, I’m quite okay with the fiddling that it takes to sight in a Skinner by drifting it at the range in order to gain the sleek, clean, snag free lines in the brush and the absolute bomb proof construction that is 100% maintenance and worry free for the woods.