Iron Sights: A Primer
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree61Likes

Thread: Iron Sights: A Primer

Site Contributor Contributing Member
    Member #

Iron Sights: A Primer

-
    First and foremost, I am NOT an expert nor am I a high precision shooter. I'm just an average shooter who likes iron sights. Since many of you paid good tax money to teach me how to use them, I thought maybe I'd repay the favor if I can.

And it seems this topic comes up quite often so I thought I'd toss out my take in hopes it helps someone.

Alright, so, iron sights, well, obviously there are different kinds. Quite a few different kinds really. But I think for the most part the bulk break down into four basic kinds: Open Sights, Peep Sights, Tang Sights, and Ladder Sights.

The latter two, tang and ladders, are for more precision and/or long range work. I'm not going to spend much time on these as most who choose them are far more versed in their use than I and most here are interested in the first two.

Open sights are just that, open. It primarily refers to the rear sight. Buckhorns, notches, batwings, whatever the name/style, they are generally a blade with some type of cut-out to align the front sight. More often than not, they are barrel mounted. Stock Marlin sights are open sights. Open sights are notoriously less accurate than any of the other styles. More on that later...

Peep sights (a.k.a ghost rings) use a ring for the rear sight. These are generally receiver mounted. While on the surface these may seem like they would be less accurate than open sights since they don't have a notch cut to the size of the front sight, the opposite is actually true. More on that in a minute...

SHOOTING WITH IRON SIGHTS:

There are two basic steps in shooting with irons.