Flas Hole Question
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree70Likes

Thread: Flas Hole Question

Marlin Marksman
    Member #

Flas Hole Question

I am hoping that someone with more experience than I have will be able to give me some insight. The Staying at home thing has let me catch up on projects I have been putting off, one of them is cleaning up about 600rnds of 45 acp brass that I have been storing in a couple of coffee cans for several years. Some of the brass was from what I fired and some of it was scrounged range brass. After I cleaned it up I was inspecting some of it and was surprised at the difference in flash holes. The Federal brass had large holes with some being elongated, the Winchester and the Starline's flash holes were about the same and some marked S&B had smaller holes. I do not remember this with any of my rifle brass but maybe I didn't look close enough.

My question is will this make any practical difference in my reloading of this brass. I will probably separate it when loading but would this affect pressure with my high end loads. Thanks

Gun Wizard
    Member #
    good question, hopefully someone with ballistics expertise will chime in. I guess I'm a practical reloader. if the flash hole is open and the case had fired a bullet previously I reload it.

Contributing Member
    Member #
    For match ammo segregate them by size. Size matters, especially for rifle ammo. Bigger hole, faster ignition, a slight pressure rise, and velocity increase. For blanks, you need to open up the hole so the primer won't walk back hanging up a revolver.

AC

4. Remove Advertisements
    MarlinOwners.com
    Advertisements

Marlin Fanatic
    Member #