Lee Dippers and small pistol cartridges
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree39Likes

Thread: Lee Dippers and small pistol cartridges

Deadeye
    Member #

Lee Dippers and small pistol cartridges

I've been reloading rifle cartridges for many years but am just now starting to think about taking up reloading some .380 ACP cartridges. My question has to do with measuring the powder charge.

I have never owned a powder dispenser but have always either weighed each charge or used some kind of dipper. I mostly use Lee plastic dippers but I have also made up a couple of custom dippers out of brass cartridge cases that drop out specific charge weights of specific powder to match my pet loads. Even though I have great confidence in using powder dippers to measure charges for rifle cartridges, I'm a little hesitant to use them when it comes to measuring powder for a small pistol. A charge variance of a couple tenths of a grain in .35 Rem is relatively trivial. But a +/- 0.2 grain variance in a small cartridge with fast pistol powder seems like it would make a much larger difference.

Still, I somehow doubt that automatic powder dispensers are much more accurate and consistent than are dippers. Don't you probably see just about as much variation in powder charge with a typical automatic powder measure as you do with the dippers?

I know that I would probably need to make my own dipper to specifically drop a charge of the weight and specific powder that I want to load. The standard Lee dippers rarely offer the specific volume required for small pistol loads with such a small window between starting and max loads. I suppose I can trickle and weigh each charge until I find a load that I like and then make a custom dipper that doles out a charge that consistently weighs what I want to load.