Cleaning old moulds ulrtrasonically?
Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By Chickenthief
  • 1 Post By rclint

Thread: Cleaning old moulds ulrtrasonically?

Site Contributor Contributing Member
    Member #

CAN THIS MOVE TOO BOOLIT CASTING?>Cleaning old molds ultrasonically?

I've got a few molds that the vent lines have gotten a little dirty.

So other than the regular methods, has anyone tried the sonic cleaners that some use for brass and various
    gun parts.
    Are there any detrimental effects that could be caused by the ultrasonic cleaning method or would it shine the molds back up?
    I'm new to mold use and care and this could be a nonquestion, just wanted to see before I tried.. Thanks
    BTW these are all aluminum molds of various makers
    Last edited by lipripper; 02-23-2015 at 07:31 PM. Reason: tried to move out of Ranch Dog subforum. couldn't but maybe a mod will. thanks
    always remembered,KGW.thanks for the good times
    Team 35 #217
    Team 30/30 #799
    336 30/30
    336 35 Rem
    Camp 9
    1894C 357
    Model 60
    All JM
    Marlin League of Endangered Gun Owners #`138

Deadeye
    Member #
    Lipripper
    I have been cleaning my molds in my ultrasonic cleaner for years. My Ultra Sonic cleaner is an older H.F. Industrial model and has a 2 Liter SS tank and outer case. For aluminum molds I have used distilled water and dawn, mineral spirits and acetone. Be extremely careful with the flammable solvents! If I am using flammable solvents, I do it outside on a concrete surface or my steel welding table placed away from anything that could be burned! Having covered the safety aspect, I have never had a fire (yet). I also have a 16 gauge steel plate that covers the top of my cleaner.