Night Scopes
Like Tree4Likes
  • 3 Post By rclint
  • 1 Post By mazer

Thread: Night Scopes

Marlin Marksman
    Member #

Night Scopes

My brother in law has a coyote problem and is interested in fitting a night vision scope to his rifle, does anyone here have any recommendations? Is he better off going with a night scope or a mounted light? He has a Savage 11/111 in .223, along with a few AR's. I have no experience in this area so any advice will be appreciated.
    Thanks
    GH1
    I owe my life to an organ donor.

Certified Gunnut
    Member #
    Check out Fox man post in the small varmint section https://www.marlinowners.com/forum/sm...ight-duty.html

I have never used a night vision scope, I have used a light to hunt varmints... but don't care to much for night hunting even with the advantages. I hunted an area about 40 acres really hard with calls, and over bait, as well as chicken manure (coyotes come in like white in rice to manure trucks spreading) I had piled up a lot of kills thinking I probably run the pack off, or decimated it. About 2 months later I was bottom plowing the field I had hunted over when a small pack of coyotes ran a rabbit right beside me on the tractor... they never even noticed me, before long with a bunch of yipping, and hollering there was 30-40 coyotes all around me. This was well before we had the coyote problem we do now, it really opened my eyes to just how many coyotes were in the area. If you need population control a gun will not do... that is my personal opinion with a little evidence thrown in for good measure.

Coyotes are a tough animal, they are smart, will eat and survive on anything, and wipe out the game in the area.

Contributing Member
    Member #