H&R 12ga choke
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By tnpaul

Thread: H&R 12ga choke



  1. #1
    Tenderfoot
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    mid Tenn
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    12786
    Thanked
    1 times

    H&R 12ga choke

    Does any one know what choke comes with a H&R 12 ga?
    94win30wcf likes this.

  2. #2
    Gun Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    New Jerseystan
    Posts
    2,619
    Member #
    57221
    Thanked
    10652 times
    An H&R 12 Ga what?

    H&R generally uses chokes compatible with Browning, Invector, Mossberg 500.

    If it's a fixed choke, the choke spec can be found on the barrel.
    Last edited by scorpio; 02-29-2020 at 09:42 AM.
    "Step by step they were led to things which dispose to vice, the lounge, the bath, the elegant banquet. All this in their ignorance they called civilization, when it was but a part of their servitude." ― Tacitus

  3. #3
    Platinum Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    ny state
    Posts
    21,758
    Member #
    62682
    Thanked
    54854 times
    All ive seen are full.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    MarlinOwners.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Tenderfoot
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    mid Tenn
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    12786
    Thanked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by scorpio View Post
    An H&R 12 Ga what?

    H&R generally uses chokes compatible with Browning, Invector, Mossberg 500.

    If it's a fixed choke, the choke spec can be found on the barrel.
    It is not a fixed choke and is not marked. Thinks for looking

  6. #5
    Certified Gunnut
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    McIntosh County, Oklahoma
    Posts
    4,006
    Member #
    2633
    Thanked
    3885 times
    All the H&R's and NEF's shotguns I've seen have the markings on top of the barrel over the chamber. Example would be "12 GA/Mod or 12 GA/IC". I've owned dozens of these guns in the past but only rifles which have the markings on the side of the chamber because of scope mounts. Unless the gun is specifically for turkey hunting which would be a full choke I suspect the choke would be modified.

    If you have some calipers you can measure against this chart. Click on chart for full size.

    chart.jpg
    SI VIS PACEM--PARA BELLUM

    WHAT WE THINK WE BECOME

  7. #6
    Gunfighter
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SE Wisconsin
    Posts
    787
    Member #
    10716
    Thanked
    1064 times
    Since it's not "a fixed choke" I'll assume it has a screw-in choke tube. There is a pretty well used industry method of marking choke restrictions by marking the muzzle end of the choke tubes with shallow slots, 1 slot for full up to 4 or 5 for skeet or cylinder. I think 5 is cylinder ( no choke), 4 is skeet, 3 Imp cyl, 2 mod and 1 full. I probably have those a bit out is sequence since there are more than 5 choke restrictions but these "slots" count are close. Don't include the wrench slots, if they are there, in that count.


Home | Forum | Active Topics | What's New | Subscribed Threads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •