Making my 1st knife....kind of

Wrangler
    Member #

Making my 1st knife....kind of

I just ordered my blade blank and handle material. I am going to try and make a drop point skinner in SS to match my MXLR. I have never done anything like this before, but you have to start somewhere. I will most likely lean on some of you guys here for advice once I start and post pics as I go along. The material I am using for the handle is a syn type they state is good for guns & knives and looks like the grey laminate on my MXLR.
    338 MXLR
    30-30 Zane Grey
    357 Mag 1894C
    22 Model 60
    Team Marlin Express
    Team 30-30 #168
    Team 1894 #144
    Team 60 #112

Motto: It Begins with Me, I Believe, I'll Never Quit....

Deadeye
    Member #

Re: Making my 1st knife....kind of

Best tip I can give ya is to do as much work on the front of the handle's as possible before epoxying to the blade. It's hard to get to afterwards, and almost impossible to avoid scratching the blade if ya do.

Other than that, take your time, and have fun.
    You'll be fine.
    Field sports are not about targets and scores. Score-keeping is necessary in competitions between humans, unattractive in competitions with weaker adversaries. Constant scores of many to zero do not smell of struggle and chance. They smell of greed.

Site Contributor Contributing Member
    Member #

Mike this sounds like a great project. What kind of stainless did you get, is it 440C or something more exotic? The handle material almost sounds like corian or something like that. Keep us posted on your progress please, this sounds very interesting.

MM
    Account Closed

4. Remove Advertisements
    MarlinOwners.com
    Advertisements

Gun Wizard
    Member #

Practice drawing (and even making) the blade on/from a scrap of wood. Say 1/4" plywood or so. Then make a mock up handle for it.