Grandpa's Ithaca
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree57Likes

Thread: Grandpa's Ithaca

Marlin Marksman
    Member #

Grandpa's Ithaca

My grandfather passed in 1987. He had an Ithaca 37R Featherlight in 16 gauge that he used for Grouse hunting. He could hit grouse and woodcock like no one I've ever known. SN indicates it was manufactured in 1954.

After he passed the gun went to my father. As a young man I did get to shoot a few clays with it. Dad hunted with it for a few years but the stock developed a crack. It then sat in the back of dad's closet.

A few years ago dad and mom were getting ready to move into a retirement community and they would have limited room. Dad asked me what guns I really wanted. I just said "just two"...his Dan Wesson 357 that I gave him when I graduated college, and grandpa's Ithaca. Well...I have to wait awhile for the DW since its his home protection gun and I won't get that until he passes so I'm in no rush for that one...but he did pass along the Ithaca. All other firearms he could divvy up between my brother and myself.

I got the Ithaca home and did a factory strip of the gun. It took me over 90 minutes of cleaning to get the past 60+ years of gunk out of it. I pulled the crack open in the stock and forced waterproof wood glue into the crack using an air gun attachment on my air compressor. I wanted to force the glue as deep as I could to make a strong repair. After clamping the stock up, I wiped off the excess glue and left it sit to cure. That was all I did to it so I wouldn't damage the original finish/patina of the stock. Yes...its scratched and dinged up...but it is my family that scratched and dinged it up...so...it stays. I put the firearm back together again and gave it a good oiling. I'm a lefty so I contacted Ithaca and purchased a LH safety bar toggle for it.