How'd you get into GPS?
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree73Likes

Thread: How'd you get into GPS?

Gun Wizard
    Member #

How'd you get into GPS?

I forget the year (back in mid '90s) but it went like this for me. I had a cow tag for elk in the Savage Run Wilderness of the Medicine Bow Forest, Snowy Range, Wyoming.

I was stillhunting (what else?) a big, forested ridge watching below me well into the day when I spotted an elk head seemingly suspended in a ray of sunlight. To make a long story a little shorter, I shed my pack and belly crawled down the ridge toward the elk. At about 50 yards I slid into the divot left by the root-wad of a small pine tree that had blown over. It was like a foxhole with a small berm. After catching my breath I peeked over the edge.

I could see six or eight cows and calves, and a nice bull bedded below me, chewing their cuds. Remember, I had an antlerless-only tag. I studied the group and picked a cow that did not appear to have a calf at her side. She was bedded, facing away with only neck and head exposed. I aimed for the base of the skull and squeezed off the shot from my Rem. 700 Mtn. rifle in .280 Rem.

All he!! broke loose at the shot. Elk came out of the woodwork. Instantly, about twice as many elk were up and trotting straight at me. The shot had echoed off the facing ridge, confusing them. About the time they got even with my position they all stopped, several on either side. The bull followed and stopped right in front of me, peeing on himself and looking generally clueless. I had ten or fifteen elk, including a very nice bull, within spitting distance. I remember thinking, "If I wanted you, Big Boy, you'd be mine!"

Then the senior cow decided to move on. They all fell in line and trotted off over a wrinkle in the ridge behind and above me, the bull bringing up the rear. Suddenly I was alone in the quiet and the dappled sunlight. It was like a dream. I thought, "Oh, sh!t, what if I missed the head shot?"