Acceptable weight variation?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree34Likes

Thread: Acceptable weight variation?

Wrangler
    Member #

Acceptable weight variation?

I'm still pretty new to casting, and was wondering what you more experienced casters consider an acceptable amount of weight variation with your cast bullets. I'm casting 420gr and 535gr for my 45-70's. My bullets generally vary within 4-5gr of each other, with occasional outliers that are a few gr heavier or lighter. The outliers get remelted, the others get separated into groups within 1gr of each other. This has gone a long way toward eliminating fliers when shooting groups while working up loads. Just trying to get a barometer on how I'm doing I guess. Thanks in advance for your input.
    PoopDeckPappy and vt4ster like this.
    Best Regards, Tim.

TEAM 45/70 #1682
    Remlin 1895GBL, CVA Hunter 45/70, Henry H010 All Weather

Deadeye
    Member #
    A variation of 4 to 5 grains on a 400-500gn bullet is a bit unusual, but nothing to be too concerned about. It's around a 1% weight variation.

The more important thing is to ensure the bullet fully forms to the shape of the mould. All edges to the driving bands and lube grooves should be as crisp and sharp as the mould. However, the biggest thing to look out for is that the base of the bullet is flat and even. Nothing kills accuracy more (in cast and jacketed bullets), then an uneven base.
    Prickle Farmer

Wrangler
    Member #
    Thanks Prickle Farmer. I'm getting good fill out, no wrinkles etc. I do find it kinda tough to keep the temp consistent with the lee pot as the level drops. I'm thinking maybe that's contributing to the inconsistent weights. Not sure. Maybe mix more as well? I've been fluxing with sawdust, then casting without mixing anymore once the sawdust is charred and covering the surface. I'm aware of the importance of good bases. My bullets have been shooting well, but there's definitely room for improvement in my casting technique.