Do AR 15 Firing Pins Wear Quickly?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree42Likes

Thread: Do AR 15 Firing Pins Wear Quickly?

Contributing Member
    Member #

Do AR 15 Firing Pins Wear Quickly?

Got my AR556 back, shot 30 rds, disassembled it to clean. I find the larger diameter end of the firing pin scuffed/abraded around the diameter's edge.

Is this normal wear ? Also the bolt carrier group 'turn pin" looks to show wear. Ruger stated that they installed "a complete upper". Wouldn't "a complete upper" include a new BCG and firing pin and barrel ? Or are those parts not considered to be part of the nonmenclature of "a complete upper" ? I am still new to some of the "AR lingo"

The firing pin's larger outer diameter's edge on the opposite end of the pin that contacts the primer, (not the tippy top pointy end (LOL) looks like someone rubbed it on very coarse sandpaper, and left small gouges on the edge, all the way around it. Can supply pics, if needed. Looks like it was rubbing on something...but what? The floor?

Also I know there's different lengths on bolt carrier hsgs. Are all AR 15 firing pins the same length or does it depend on which length BC hsg you have? Or BC hsg lenth makes no difference, same pin?
    Last edited by MarlinManCB45/70; 04-25-2019 at 02:00 PM.
    My avatar is in Honor of my Great Grandfather , Corporal J.M. Johnston , who fought for the N.C. Confederate 36th Regiment , Company H , Heavy Artillery & who was captured by the Union at Fort Fisher, NC on Sunday, Jan. 15 1865 at @ 10:00PM.

In Dixie Land I'll Take My Stand , To Live And Die in Dixie

Marlin Marksman
    Member #
    FP's wear early. In a word. No.
    Smith & Wesson The Handgun Of Choice!
    Revolvers Rule.

Contributing Member
    Member #