New Here/Hand Gun Optic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: New Here/Hand Gun Optic

Tenderfoot
    Member #

New Here/Hand Gun Optic

Hi there! Just ordered my 1895SBL and am considering putting a Leupold FXII 4X28 on it with medium rings. Is this a bad idea? I saw something about 18" of eye relief which seems like it could be manageable but I have no idea. Appreciate any help.
    HIKayaker, 94win30wcf and mattusmc like this.

Deadeye
    Member #
    Welcome to the Forum from central ND.

Sorry but I can't answer your question as I have no experience with that rifle or scope - but someone on the Forum will be along to give you some good input sooner or later.
    iliketogofast69 likes this.
    This is the day which the Lord has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

Team: .35 Rem #803; Team .30-30 #1462

Distinguished Master
    Member #
    Welcome to MO from SW Ohio.

Sounds like you want to mount a handgun scope forward of the receiver in a scout rifle position.

Realize that long eye relief scopes have decreased field of view. This gets smaller and smaller with increased magnification. That's why Cooper's specifications for for his scout rifle called for a scope not more than 2.5x magnification. That's about the maximum that one can use and a) keep both eyes open b) have a reasonable field of view c) acquire the target quickly.

Mounted in the standard position, over the barrel, a 4x scope will have at least twice the field of view as it will have in the scout position.

This is the reality for handgun mounted scopes too. I have a Leupold 2-7 mounted on a S&W 629 and at 7x it's all but unusable.
    NRA Endowment Life Member, SASS, OGCA, NC Watermen United
    “If liberty means anything at all, it means the right to tell people what they do not want to hear.” -- George Orwell
    "Corruptissima in republica plurimae leges."--Tacitus
    The more numerous the laws, the more corrupt the government.

4. Remove Advertisements