Another Cross bolt safety question and safety delete options
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree44Likes

Thread: Another Cross bolt safety question and safety delete options

Tinhorn
    Member #

Another Cross bolt safety question and safety delete options

I tried doing a search and found several questions about installing a safety delete and removing the cross bolt safety. After looking around I didn't see an answer to a question I still had. I'm new to Marlin lever guns so I'm not very familiar with the internal mechanism and I was wondering what would happen if you took out the cross bolt safety and didn't replace it with anything? What if you also removed the ball bearing and spring and set screw and didn't replace them either? If you only had holes there would the gun cycle and fire normally? I have an 1895 Guide gun made in 2016 in case that makes a difference. I apologize if this has been answered somewhere. I looked for a while and couldn't find it.
    Thanks!

Deadeye
    Member #
    No expert, I just replaced mine with the Bear Tooth Mercantile Saddle ring safety delete. Works well. But no not see anything wrong except dirt getting into hole if left alone/
    tradarcher likes this.
    Aim Small, Miss Small

Wrangler
    Member #
    The gun would work just fine. But you'd have an ugly hole on each side. More elegant way would be to replace it with a plug you can buy or one that includes a saddle ring.

I just put the safety on fire and tighten down the detent screw until the safety can't be pushed to safe. It can be easily reversed.
    Owen49, tradarcher, 4mynra and 1 others like this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    MarlinOwners.com
    Advertisements

Gun Wizard
    Member #
    For the 20 bucks or so they cost I’d get a safety delete if you want to remove the safety. Gun would function fine without one, BUT I must agree it would look UGLY.. LOL.

Keep us posted
    tradarcher likes this.