What is wrong with my new 1895 SDT?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

SH [OP]
    Tenderfoot
    Member #

What is wrong with my new 1895 SDT?

I'm relatively new to leverguns but I recently purchased 3 new SDTs and received them today.
    (2) 1895s and (1) 336 (I didn't really want the 336 but had to buy it to obtain both 1895s)

My observations and concerns-

I like the compactness of the SDTs and the exterior fit and finish were fine. The roughness of the internals certainly didn't inspire confidence but I can polish them if necessary.

All three of the rifles had the front sight shrouds detached and floating loose in the bag.
    Not a major problem but it was likely responsible for a couple of very faint scratches on the receiver and barrel.

The front fiber optic on the 336 was broken.
    An annoyance but not a major concern.

One of the rifles had a somewhat heavy but crisp trigger. The others two may get replaced.

My real concern is with one of the 1895s. It would cyle fine if moved quickly. A slow cycle however, would cause it to "freeze up" just before the carrier drops down. At this point the cycle could be completed but only with a serious increase in pressure which resulted in the carrier "snapping" rather than "dropping" into place.

After innumerable cycles it has improved to the point where it only occasionally catches when cycled gently and never when cycled hard. (but when it does catch it is still as hard to lock up as before)

What do you think is causing this?
    Would it be easy to remedy with fine abrasives and a buffing machine?
    I hate to waste the time and money to send it back to Marlin if the fix is easily remedied at home!

Thank you for your help!

Tinhorn
    Member #

Re: What is wrong with my new 1895 SDT?