Marlin Firearms Forum banner

Marlin "FLOP"

7K views 19 replies 13 participants last post by  Plundering Bill 
#1 ·
Marlin "FLOP"

I'm relatively new to Marlin. What's the Marlin FLOP. Thanks.

#6 ·
Re: Marlin "FLOP"

You're speaking of the play in the trigger? Ok now it's has a name, doesn't bother me none. Thanks for the clarification Mr fixit

#8 ·

No one really answered my question. :eek: It has something to do w/ the trigger. People always say by the WW trigger set, it gets rid of the FLOP. WHAT IS THE FLOP!??? ???

#9 ·

If you had followed the link that JohnnyLoco provided, you would have found a brief explanation of the Marlin flop. Quote from the Midway webpage, "Design eliminates the infamous Marlin trigger flop.".

The standard Marlin trigger is a two piece affair with a little bit of mechanical slop built in. The replacement trigger has an internal spring that takes up the slack and eliminates the "flop" or slack.

#11 ·

Jayhawker said:
If you had followed the link that JohnnyLoco provided, you would have found a brief explanation of the Marlin flop. Quote from the Midway webpage, "Design eliminates the infamous Marlin trigger flop.".

I didn't even notice that! ;D

#12 ·

My 1966 336 RC is the worst one I have for flop. It's been like that since day one, and I've grown to accept it. I should replace it with the WWG trigger, but it's been with me for over 42 years now, so why mess with success! My other Marlins have a bit of it, but nothing like the '66.

#15 ·

Every Marlin centerfire 336 save a few very early ones has it & they should all be very close to the same. Its not a flaw or wearing out or the parts. It just allows the sear to engage the hammer & the saftey block. WWG's trigger just has a spring to take up the flop, but its still there. I honestly dont see what folks find offensive about it.

#17 ·