Might have hurt my bore (1894C)

Tenderfoot
    Member #

Hey gang,

During the last cleaning of my 1894C, I noticed a blemish in the bore. About 1/3 to 1/2 way down the barrel @ 3 o'clock. Looks like a tiny 'knick' on the land and a bit of 'waviness' if you will, in the groove. I don't know if I (being a newbie) caused it or if it was like that from the factory. I've had the rifle for 6 months, 400 rds or so.

Being pretty new to guns and shooting, I'm not experienced in the best methods for cleaning a given bore, aside from the basic stuff anyway. I've probably been a tad obsessive-compulsive about it. I wan't to do all I can to keep my guns happy. I've read allot of different recommendations over the last few years and it's hard to know what's best. I'd always run thru a wet patch, bronze brush then dry patch (repeat as necessary).

I think the blemish may have been caused by a .357 brass jag. I heard they were best for cleaning somewhere. Despite being 2-3mm smaller than an empty .357 casing, the jag was mega-tight to push thru the bore (w/patch of course). It got stuck pretty tight part way thru, so I had to get a bit forceful. Wasn't going to reverse it in the bore. I was also using a 3-piece brass rod which may have bowed and rubbed a joint on the land, I donno.

The jag made me nervous, and I've only used slotted nylon tips, dewey 1-piece and patches since. They go thru nice and smooth.

I don't know if this small knick will effect performance, or if it warrants my sending the gun back to Marlin (under warranty) for possible barrel replacement. The blemish area is mid-bore with muzzle/crown and all else looking fine.

I've heard these levers shoot better after 1000 rnds, and having 400 rnds already thru it, I don't really want to start over.

I've had the rifle disassembled for a few weeks now, (just lever and bolt). I run a patch of Hoppe's #9 thru it every day or 2, and a dry patch thru before re-wet patching.