How are Marlin lever action rifles rated?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tinhorn
    Member #

How are Marlin lever action rifles rated?

I'm new to the world of Marlins, especially lever actions. I'm curious as to how lever action enthusiasts rate/perceive Marlins. Is the Winchester 94 considered the standard or does it just benefit from being around for a hell of a long time? What about Henry? Mossberg? The others? Now, I'm sure everyone around here is somewhat partial to Marlins, but I'm really curious how enthusiasts of every stripe rate the Marlin lever actions.

Thanks.

High Priest of the Powder Hoarders Marlin Fanatic
    Member #

Re: How are Marlin lever action rifles rated?

There are plenty of Winchester fans here, but I'm not one of them. Ridiculously over-complicated, hard to scope, hard to clean.

Brownings? I'm not a fan of the way they balance and feel. Some folks like them, but I was corrupted by Marlins a long time ago.

Henry.......eh. They don't float my boat the way the Marlins do. Haven't shot many. But I own one.

Savage 99: I'd like to have a few, but the collectors have driven prices insanely high.

Mossberg........one question. Why bother? It's a Wrenchester with a new ID tag.

Puma and Rossi? Nice guns, but still Winchester-pattern, and hard to scope. I need glass. Were I in my 20's I'd probably get one.

Marlins are easily scoped or Scouted, easy to take down for cleaning, tear down for maintenance, and they look cool. I think my 1894C and M-375 are two of the prettiest guns on the planet. The 1894-CSS will only be more of the same.

But as you said, I'm a bit biased.

"Any black kid from the projects available to shout 'how dare you' about six times in front of the UN? Maybe then these virtue-signaling, good-for-nothing, leftist politicians and celebrities will jump to fix the neighborhoods that have been devastated by their policies." —Candace Owens

Gun Wizard
    Member #

I like the 1886 or 71 better than the marlin 1895.