+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tinhorn
    Member #

Early Model 80 DL

I recently acquired a Marlin Model 80 DL on a straight trade for a Glenfield Model 60 and I couldn't be happier about it. I didn't really have a clue about what the 80 was other then it was a bolt action, magazine fed, 24" rifle, with an obviously walnut stock. As a gun refurbishing hobbyist, I enjoy bringing guns back from the brink of ruin, especially those manufactured from the 1930's to the early 1960's. Given that this rifle is pre-microgroove, with a walnut stock, and a plastic trigger guard, it was most likely made between 1945 and 1947. It didn't cycle when I picked it up, but it had all the parts in all the right places, except for a dinged up stock and a missing sight aperture on the receiver sight (Marlin/Lyman 12R). It turns out that with some adjustments to the magazine lips and some tinkering with the extractor, I quickly got the 80 cycling. Not only does it cycles, it cycles with a smoothness and authority that I have rarely felt in any .22lr bolt at any price. I found a gent that machines the replacement aperture for the rife (Apertures-N-More, www.aperturesnmore.com, jhulett@chartermi.net), and ordered an replacement. After a couple of days of work on the stock (much sanding, Tru-oil, and carnauba wax), the rifle was ready to go to the range. Wow. A very accurate rifle. I can't believe that these go for $100 - $175. It outshoots my CZ 452 Ultra Lux shot for shot with the same ammo. I'm sure that the 31" sight radius has something to do with it. I'm very happy with this rifle and plan on keeping it around for some time. If anyone else out there has any history with these rifles let me know what you think of your experiences.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Site Contributor Contributing Member
    Member #

Re: Early Model 80 DL