+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: What ammo are you shooting through your (micro groove) .22 WMR

Tinhorn
    Member #

What ammo are you shooting through your (micro groove) .22 WMR

I am relatively new to owning micro-groove barrel Marlin guns. I have an XT-22TR (Love it) and have an XT-22 MVSR (.22 WRM) on the way. I have been told that the micro groove rifling on the Marlins tend to shoot better with lower velocity ammo (something about the shallower grooves not biting into the bullet as much, which tends to produce worse results the higher the velocity is), which apparently was also the case with the old Cooey rifles. To be honest, I don't know from my own (limited) experience with Marlins.

Therefore, mostly with respect to .22 WRM, I am wondering what you guys have had good success with? Anyone tried the polymer tipped offerings from Hornady, CCI, Remington, Federal, or Winchester? These all tend to be in the 30gr. range. What about the Federal 50gr. JHP? What about the 40gr. variations?

I am looking for comments on accuracy, as well as how effective they are if you have hunted with them.
    Last edited by HK45; 02-02-2013 at 02:02 PM.

Army Veteran 67-69 Korea Administrator
    Member #
    Mostly Federal in the 550 bulk pack. I stay away from Rem unless it's sub sonic or shorts.

Most microgroove guns I've tested and own seem to like the Federals for the most part, and the only other I shoot is CCI Standard velocity, reason is simple they have a slight accuracy edge over the Federals, and they don't cost an arm and a leg to shoot.
    MissMaggie likes this.
    God Bless Our Troops -- Retired Tool & Die Maker -- The center of an Aspirin is the same size as the center of the moon, aim for the center.

Sidewinder
    Member #
    I ran a hundred CCI's Maxis to 'break in' & 'season' the barrel when I bought my new 925RM. Afterwards I've been using whatever I can find....