+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tinhorn
    Member #

.257 Roberts Experts.....Question About Brass

Hello There, fairly new here in the forum with a lot of questions.
    I am also a rookie reloader trying to load for my .257Roberts and having dificulty finding new brass for it. It seems that only winchester and Remington sells unprimed brass for this cartridge. However, I have looked online and nobody has any at the moment.
    Nevertheless, I need to know if I could load Remington brass to +P pressures (in case I find it) I know winchester is stamped "+P" but the Rem isn't and its factory ammo is underloaded. Hence the original question about using their brass. Do any of you knowledgeable folks know if I can. Don't wanna blow my face trying. Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Army Veteran 67-69 Korea Administrator
    Member #

Re: .257 Roberts Experts.....Question About Brass

Yes you can. 7X57 brass is a one stroke in the sizing die and you have a .257 Roberts.

I have made some from 8X57 but having a 7mm die to step it down helps, with the 8mm brass you need to ream or outside neck turn.

I had a Rem 722 and a Ruger 77 and Browning BLR in .257 and have put some pretty stout loads through them guns.
    God Bless Our Troops -- Retired Tool & Die Maker -- The center of an Aspirin is the same size as the center of the moon, aim for the center.

Marlin Marksman
    Member #

You can neck up .244 or 6 mm Rem. (same thing) and get good results. Using the 7mm brass is the way to go as when setting up your dies just size down a little at a time so you don't set the shoulder back and create access head space ! You want to make it a slight crush fit.

Hipshot

Super Moderator
    Member #

I agree with Swany and Hipshot.

Using Remington factory brass in .257 I've loaded 120's to a little over 2900 fps, and 100's to 3200 - 3250 fps in a 22 inch barreled Ruger 77 (certainly in the "+P" range) and the cases have held up fine.