+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Darkker

Thread: How does the XL7 hold up against the new Ruger American Rifle?

Marlin Marksman
    Member #

How does the XL7 hold up against the new Ruger American Rifle?

I'm new to firearms, and to hunting. I will probably be purchasing a deer rifle at some point this year for use in the Northeast on Whitetail. I love my Marlin .22s, so naturally I'm looking at Marlin center fire rifles for deer hunting. But I'm also familiar with the severe lack of quality that many newer Marlins display, so I'm cautious about buying a new XL7. I've also been looking at the Ruger American Rifle, and it does seem to be very comparable. I'm even leaning towards the Ruger a little because of the box magazine, and the 60deg bolt rotation, but I'm a little leery of the new/untested "powerbedding" versus the XL7's factory pillar bedding. So what do you guys think? Which would you recommend to a noob?
    1946 Marlin model 39A project (not working yet)
    1978 Glenfield model 40 (Marlin model 49DL)
    1996 Marlin model 60
    Team 60 member #90
    Team 49.22 member #1

Hey, you can't say that in America!

Marlin Marksman
    Member #
    Probably no one here has tried a Ruger yet.I have had no problems with 3 X7 Rifles.Ruger is also a good company.I have nothing bad to say about them.I guess it comes down to how the Rifle fits you.

Deadeye
    Member #
    Although I haven't personally shot the American, the "power bedding" appears to be a rip-off of the Choate Ultimate series. I personally like that method on my guns. Think of a heavy piece of angle iron, that you cinch the action into.
    I agree that the rotary box-mag(ala 10-22) seems very cool.

Personally with 2 XL's under my belt, I don't see the "QC" issues that some say. Obviously YMMV, but we are talking about(around here) Sub-$300 guns. The fit and finish BETTER NOT be what a $600 gun is.... Or Browning screwed me