+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pigs in MI

Tinhorn
    Member #

Pigs in MI

all I hear about on MGO is how the damn hogs are invading and the DNR wont or cant do crap about it...

sorry but I'm not a farmer, I'd love another species of game to hunt, lemme at em!

BTW Ive been roaming the northwoods and east coast of MI for better than 20 years and Ive never seen one...

here piggy piggy piggy....

Wrangler
    Member #

Re: Pigs in MI

According to the map there has been a population explosion in many parts of MI. Both up north and LP.
    I've been keeping up with the map for only a couple months and there have been large increases all over the country.

How this data is derived and specifics on actual tracking v. estimated population/territory modeling is not something I have confirmed. I believe that many DNR/Conservation agencies request that sightings be reported.

www.feralswine.org
    http://mdc.mo.gov/landown/wild/nuisance/hogs/
    http://www.texasboars.com/

While I lived in Missouri, I learned that MDC is one of the best State Conservation agencies for hunters. A statewide ballot passed back in the 80's mandated a percentage of every cent of sales tax go directly to the agency. They have some VERY nice public shooting ranges that are staffed and very good programs such as CONSEP Wing Shooting (I believe there are less than 10 classes in the country and Missouri has 3).

From what I understand, many states DNR/Conservation Agencies are indirectly funded often getting low or no priority in the overall budget process. But I am not an expert.

Any confirmation MI DNR will allow use of rifles for feral pig in the Deer 'shotgun zone'? (for those not familiar MI has a shotgun zone and a rifle zone for Deer season).

I'm tempted to purchase 308/338 MXLR for just such an occasion....with a little help from my friends and their 30-06 that is.

Tinhorn
    Member #