+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Dave Bulla

Thread: silver soldering on a front sight

Sidewinder
    Member #

silver soldering on a front sight

Any thing special about silver soldering on a front sight? I have had plenty of experience welding/brazing TIG and gas welding but really have not done much soldering Iím assuming that the barrel is cleaned and brought to bear metal solder is place between the sight and barrel and held in the correct orientation and the heat is applied so the solder will melt and bond the two pieces together? When doing this are you aplying heat to the joint or trying to heat up the part to the temperature of the solders melting point? What works best the wire/strips of silver solder and flux or the paste? I have some of the 1100 degree solder paste from Brownells would this be good to use for a Ruger Blackhawk sight or should I get something with a cooler soldering temp? Iím debating two options on this front sight and am just trying to figure out what way I should go

Army Veteran 67-69 Korea Administrator
    Member #

Re: silver soldering on a front sight

Two ways to do it, tin and sweat, or prep and use thin sheets precut and sweat on. Lots of care must be taken to insure it being level and in line.

Many different grades of silver solder at varying temps most all will work and not damage bbl steel.
    God Bless Our Troops -- Retired Tool & Die Maker -- The center of an Aspirin is the same size as the center of the moon, aim for the center.

Deadeye
    Member #

Quote Originally Posted by swany
    Two ways to do it, tin and sweat, or prep and use thin sheets precut and sweat on. Lots of care must be taken to insure it being level and in line.

Many different grades of silver solder at varying temps most all will work and not damage bbl steel.
    Hi swany,
    Is the front site on the Blackhawk already installed with silver solder?