+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Site Contributor Wrangler
    Member #

TC triumph or trump

well I broke down and bought one of them fancy in lines that use them pellets and sabots of which I have no experience.

I cleaned it up according to the instructions that came with it, dropped a couple of those pyrodex 50 grn pellets in it and proceeded to stuff one of them sabots( a nice spire bullet with this plastic thing around it)...I'm used to a patched round ball :P.......well I liked to have never pushed that thing down to the top of them pellets

the first shot was at 25 yds with open sights...hit dead center...I'm thinking wow this is a Quality gun, so then I mounted a scope on it and bore sighted by breaking the action open and looking thru the breach plug

then I tried to load another round and couldn't get the bullet all the way down, had to take the breach plug out and drive the bullet out the muzzle, so I swabbed the bore with the TC bore with that TC cleaner stuff and finally got another round in it...hit 4" to the right at 25 yds so I cranked the scope over 64 clicks ....cleaned the bore and "fired another round"...hit 1" high right above the bull,so cleaned and almost had to beat another round in, went out to 50 yds and fired...hit 2" high right above the bull...I could have shot 20 patched round balls out of my hawken by now

What am I doing wrong, I think I'm not getting the bore clean, The vidio that came with this thing said a feller shot 250 rounds without cleaning....I doubt that... not to call anybody a lier but I sure would like to get him to show me how

steve44

Marlin Marksman
    Member #

Re: TC triumph or trump