+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: New 444 owner & Elk

Tenderfoot
    Member #

New 444 owner & Elk

I posted this on a different forum and they pointed me over here. I realize you are all Marlin lovers here, as am I, but my question is more relevant to the caliber than anything else. So, here goes.

Sadly, I sold off all my guns 5 years ago. I have been rebuilding my rifle stable for a couple years now. I came across a great deal on a near-new 2006 minted 1895 Marlin 444 with fantastic wood. I figured it would be great for timber hunting Elk.

I'm fairly savvy on rifles/ballistics and I certainly have my personal preferences. I knew that the 444 was not the same as my previous 45-70 when I bought it. However, this is my first 444. I've "Googled" around a bit to find out about safe 270-300gr. max loads. It seems there is still debate on what a generally accepted safe max load for the 444 is, individual rifles vary I know. Some people swear the Marlin action is weak sauce and must not be trusted and others claim some ridiculously high velocities. Considering this gun is a <150yd shooter for my applications, I have decided not to run "crazy hot" loads at all.

So, to my question: How many of you here have actual experience with this caliber from a 22" barrel on Elk using "typical and acceptable" pressure loads? I am very interested in hearing from people with hands on experience with this caliber/bullet combo on Elk. I know it is plenty for Deer and arguably not enough for Browns, but is it formidable on quartering shots within 150 yards on Elk? All the evidence suggests yes but I am really hunting for opinions from people that have personally used it on Elk.

Thanks in advance.

Site Contributor Extraordinaire & Team 444 Captain Super Moderator
    Member #

Re: New 444 owner & Elk