+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Performance of cast bullets on big game

Tenderfoot
    Member #

Performance of cast bullets on big game

Need information on the performance of cast bullets on big game. All of my big game hunting has been with jacketed bullets. I have worked up a flat nose 180 grain bullet ( that is what it weights with gas check ) load at just over 1600 fps that is grouping at one inch at 100 yards. Do I need more speed or is this good for 150 yards or less? This is for a Marlin 336 in 30-30. I have no experience on the killing power of cast bullets and the 30-30. Your help would be appreciated.

DAG

Super Moderator
    Member #
    G'day Dag. I'm no expert but I reckon you need to get that bullet up to around 2000fps. At 1600 you are not getting the best from that combination.

Mark.
    DAG460 likes this.
    Love people and use things. NOT THE OPPOSITE.

Team ANZMO Member #00

Team 1894 Member # 214

Team Bikers Member#02

Team .375 Member #02

Tinhorn
    Member #