+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Marlin Warranty Service

Tinhorn
    Member #

Marlin Warranty Service

I purchased a Marlin 336W for my 14 year to be his first deer rifle on November 9th. The Academy where I bought it mounted and bore-sighted the scope for me. I zeroed the rifle the next day, my son practiced the next day and two days later killed his first deer(not hard to do in Texas even for a novice). The next weekend we went for more target practice at a range and after the first three shots the rifle started shooting way off. Upon inspection we noticed that the base screws and ring screws were loose. I'm not an expert but have plenty of gunsmithing tools so when we got home I lapped the rings using a 1" dowel and 320 grit sandpaper. When I remounted the scope it would not align, it canted to the left. I spent hours trying to align but to no avail. Took the rings off and inspected the bases. The front base was not centered. Tried the rear base on the fron and it would not center either. Took the base off and if you look real close you can see the front base holes were drilled off center. Took the rifle back to Academy and they agreed with my assessment and sent it to Marlin today via UPS. I did register the firearm online with Marlin the day I bought it and a copy of the purchase receipt is with the rifle.

My issue with the rifle is after inspecting the scope there is very little windage adjustment left after the rifle is zeroed since the scope cants to the left so much. I do not own many firearms - three handguns, three shotguns and four rifles and have never had to send one back to the manufacturer.

What has been your experience dealing with Marlin? If there is an obvious defect with one of their products do they take care of the customer?

Thank you in advance if you are able to respond.

me
    Marlin Fanatic
    Member #