+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By UtopiaTx336
  • 1 Post By Tatersoup

Thread: Need Help Adjusting Front Sight On 336 in 30-30 Winchester.....

Tenderfoot
    Member #

Need Help Adjusting Front Sight On 336 in 30-30 Winchester.....

Over the years I have rebuilt many 78 hand crank phonograph players, Ford Model T and Model A automobiles and do all the handy work here on the farm but have learned to ask advice before I attempt something I've never done before. I've taken a 1974 vintage Marlin 336 in the 30-30 Winchester out of storage and find after 6 rounds at roughly 85 yards it shoots 3-4 inches to the left. I will shoot some more rounds this weekend to be sure the problem is with me and not the rifle but if I do attempt to move the front sight over need some words of wisdom first.
    Not knowing the correct term for this type of front sight let me simple say that when looking through the sight it looks like a vertical letter "i" inside a tunnel. The sight has two mounting screws, one at each end of the tunnel and there is a sloping ramp at the rear of the sight.
    When the two screws are loosened somewhat is the whole sight supposed to be shifted left or right or do you just shift the front? Is there some way to mark the barrel, such as the straight edge of a "post it note" butted up to the side of the sight to make sure it has really been moved before tightening down the screws? Any and all advice appreciated.
    Thanks...
    Jhansensea likes this.

Gunfighter
    Member #

Re: Need Help Adjusting Front Sight On 336 in 30-30 Winchester.....

The front sight should be dove tailed into the ramp,drift the front sight to the right or the rear sight in the direction you need to go. I always try to use the rear sight whenever posable

DWB
    Gun Wizard Contributing Member
    Member #

For adjusting left/right "windage" on sights, and this is just me, mind you, I wouldn't mess with the front sight at all to begin with.